Atonement of sin

Hello beloved, I trust we are all very well. Let me Kindly ask that you take a moment to ask for mercy and for forgiveness of every known and unknown sin before your read further.

Bible Reading: Leviticus chapter 9 and Hebrews chapter 9

What is atonement?

As the Holy Spirit revealed to me atonement is the sacrifice made to appease a superior being. As Christians, we know and believe that Jesus Christ was used for the atonement of the sins of the world. He paid the ultimate price by laying down his life and his blood was used to appease God for every sin and unrighteousness committed in past and even unto this day-and he himself is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for our sins but also for the whole world-1 John 2:2

The Sovereign God

We need to understand the sovereignty of God. God is God, he is the creator of everything in heaven and on earth. He is known as Jehovah El- Lyon (the highest authority/most high God) by the Jews. In the Old Testament, when God gave an instruction or made a commandment it must be followed through and people who disobeyed paid highly for their disobedience, an instance of such was when the children of Aaron disobeyed God’s commandment and they paid for it with their lives-And Nadab and Abihu, the sons of Aaron, took either of them his censer, and put fire therein, and put incense thereon, and offered strange fire before the LORD, which he commanded them not. And there went out fire from the LORD, and devoured them, and they died before the LORD. -Leviticus 10:1-2. When you study the bible in the Old Testament we read how God commanded and gave father Moses specific instructions with regards to how to make sacrifices for sin using blood. He instructed them to build a sanctuary which represented his dwelling place here on earth-there was a tabernacle made; the first, wherein was the candlestick, and the table, and the shewbread; which is called the sanctuary. -Hebrews 9:2. He asked father Moses to appoint and anoint Aaron and his two sons as his priests, Aaron was ordained as the high priest.These three people were the three that could enter into the sanctuary. The first room which was known as the Holy place, God instructed that only Aaron’s sons and their father were permitted inside the first room. There was also an inner room which is called the Holy of Holies, it represented the dwelling place of God Almighty and only Aaron was permitted inside this part of the room. But even Aaron and his sons were asked to make a cleansing sacrifice to rid themselves of their sins and that’s of others committed knowingly or unknowingly. Aaron was to go into the inner room once a year to offer this blood sacrifice.  By these acts we come to understand the purity and holiness of God. This sacrifices were made using the blood of goats and Bulls and even these animals must first be clean, pure and flawless in order for them to be an acceptable sacrifice-And he said unto Aaron, Take thee a young calf for a sin offering, and a ram for a burnt offering, without blemish, and offer them before the LORD. -Leviticus 9:2. As we have often discussed God is pure and Holy. He dwells in lights and everyone who comes before his throne must come with a clean and pure heart-For Who shall ascend into the hill of the LORD? or who shall stand in his holy place? He that hath clean hands, and a pure heart; who hath not lifted up his soul unto vanity, nor sworn deceitfully. -Psalms 24:3-4

Thank God for our saviour Jesus Christ, we don’t have to make atonement for our sins using the blood of goats and Bulls anymore. He paid for our sins with his own blood and gave his life. God sacrificed his only son to redeem us from eternal condemnation. Jesus Christ through his obedience and his sinless nature became our high priest, gaining the right into the Holy of Holies in the presence of the great and mighty King where he presented his own blood to God so that anyone who calls and believe in the name of Jesus will be saved from eternal condemnation-Neither by the blood of goats and calves, but by his own blood he entered in once into the holy place, having obtained eternal redemption for us. -Hebrews 9:12. He remains at the right hand of God as our intercessor.

We truly must thank God everyday for his precious son Jesus Christ, for I cannot imagine if every time you and I fall short of his glory, we have to sacrifice pure goats and Bulls in order to have our sins forgiven. Jesus already paid the highest price and all that you and I have to do his believe in him, let go of our old life and make a decision to serve him in spirit and in truth. This brings me to another important aspect of a beliver’s salvation.

How can a believer truly worship and serve God in spirit and in truth?

We must remember that Jesus christ is our high priest and we are his priests here on earth. Jesus showed his disciples how they must live their lives, he taught his disciples to be the light of the world-As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world. -John 9:5, by being the light of the world they must continue to work for the good cause of the kingdom, they must not go weary in bringing men to God’s kingdom, they must serve humanity, pray for the sick, feed the poor and always direct people’s heart to the father just as Jesus did when he walked on earth.

Beloved, it is not enough that you and I know the Lord, that we feel his love and we receive the blessings which comes with our salvation and yet millions of people are on their way to hell and eternal condemnation. Jesus did not only pay the high price for just you and I or even for few thousand people. He paid the price for a whole generation of people, in fact for the whole world if they would believe and come to him. As his disciples it is our responsibility to ensure that these people do not end up in hell.

Jesus is coming soon as he has promised. Certainly he will return this time not to die for our sin but to take his saints with him-So Christ was once offered to bear the sins of many; and unto them that look for him shall he appear the second time without sin unto salvation. -Hebrews 9:28. Now imagine he returned today and only a few people were ready and taken up with him. All those years mediating with the father and interceding for us and yet the harvest is only for a few people?

I recently had a revelation in my dream- I saw writings in the sky ‘Jesus is coming soon’ I was so happy to have seen the writings in the sky in my dream, I also saw ‘abundance’ and as I looked up to heaven in amazement of this writings suddenly I saw crowns falling down, almost as if someone was throwing them down and as different people caught the crown and I joined and struggled to catch mine, eventually i caught a beautiful crown. However, After I caught my crown I was not as excited as I thought I would be, then suddenly I saw myself at another location where I met an old Muslim friend of mine and I began to speak to her about coming to to worship at my local church and I also spoke to her about Jesus. In my dream she received the Lord and promised to attend my church. I was so happy even much more than when I caught my crown. I walked down the road rejoicing over my friend. When I asked for more revelation of the dream from the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit revealed to me that I was struggling to catch my own crown because I was to focused on being perfect and making heaven whilst I was ignoring the work of the high priest(Jesus Christ). I was too concerned with my own need and desire of heaven that I forgot he did not only die for me. That if I was like the 12 disciples in the bible I would be more on fire, stepping out of my comfort zone to tell more people about Jesus. Jesus disciples were not just concerned with being perfect for themselves alone. They carried the gospel to the ends of the earth and that is why you and I know so much about Him today.

Today I would just like to encourage us to please set aside your own need and focus on the Father who gave his beloved precious son ,Jesus Christ as a ransom for the world. Let us focus on Jesus Christ the son of the living God who sacrificed his life and paid the highest price for you and I to be saved from eternal condemnation. And finally can we think about the need of God the Holy Spirit who lives within us teaching us daily how to live and walk as Christians. We were bought with a very high price in order to be united with God, I like this scripture which always reminds us of the love of Jesus- Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. -John 15:13. And as a friend of Jesus he tells us-Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you. -John 15:16. I pray that we will all be the light of the world and bring more people into the kingdom of God. May our conducts and good deeds shine so bright that it draws people to us and to God.

Prayer point

*Father, I thank you for your son Jesus Christ who you offered as an atonement for the deadly sins of the world- How much more shall the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself without spot to God, purge your conscience from dead works to serve the living God? -Hebrews 9:14

*Repent of every known and unknown sin if you are yet to do so.

*Father please set my heart ablaze and give me the zeal to reach out to this generation and draw men to your kingdom.

*Holy Spirit teach me your ways-Howbeit when he, the Spirit of truth, is come, he will guide you into all truth: for he shall not speak of himself; but whatsoever he shall hear, that shall he speak: and he will shew you things to come. -John 16:13

God bless you all.

Busola Olamuyiwa

Leave a Reply

