Flesh must die

When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. -1 Corinthians 13:11

This topic was laid on my heart last week Tuesday as I returned home from church. I had gone to church that morning because prior to that day, I was just unable to pray as I did not feel God’s presence. My strategy was since I was not feeling his presence at home, let me go into his presence.

I had recently relocated and truth is that moving from one country to another is overwhelming to say the least, on top of that in the same week my two boys fell ill. I was also dealing with a whole lot of other person issues that now I see as minor. I thank God for victory in the name of Jesus.

In church, the minister for that morning got on the altar and she began first with praises and she went on to speaking in tongues. Somehow, I was on the floor praying powerfully and I felt the heaviness begin to fade away. I immediately felt the love of God so strongly and I began to thank him for it, in fact I didn’t want the service to end as I felt it might also mean the end of his presence that I had longed for for days. Anyways church came to an end and I decided to go purchase a worship CD. It was one that I had before I travelled by Pastor Elias Ndeda. As I began to listen to it,  the lyrics to one of the songs on the playlist struck me- ‘Flesh must die’.

Let me state that God had already assured me of his presence before I left my location and even upon arrive at my new destination, so I wondered what has kept me from experiencing his presence in the comfort of my new home? This was a question I repeated severally in my mind and the Lord knew it had troubled me greatly. He gave me a revelation. The holy spirit revealed to me it was not that I could not come into his presence or that he was not even with me. His undying love never goes away anyways and he told us that nothing can pluck us from his hands because we are his sheep forever. However, what  puts the separation between man and God is the works of the flesh, and it is the guilt and shame we feel after we have sinned that drives us out of his presence, Just like Adam and Eve after their disobedience-  And they heard the voice of the LORD God walking in the garden in the cool of the day: and Adam and his wife hid themselves from the presence of the LORD God amongst the trees of the garden. -Genesis 3:8.  When a Christian permits any work of the flesh, then you are making room for the devil to come into your heart or even your home.  In my case I was so burdened by a lot of issues upon my return and I was dealing with impatience. And as we know patience is a fruit of the spirit and impatience is a work of the flesh, and these two work contrary to one another. I wanted everything done here and now, this was slowly leading to frustration and bitterness and gradually leading me to depend on my own knowledge and ultimately pushing away from seeking God about situations. These things kept me away from God’s presence. I could even see myself blaming others for all that was happening around me.

The truth is that God has already promised us his presence as long as we are his children-For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved. -Romans 10:13.  We must also remember that nothing we do can make God’s love go away. God loves his children no matter what, he hates sin and once we repent of that sin, he forgives us. Apostle Paul tells us Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? -Romans 8:35, and he goes further to say For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. -Romans 8:38-39.

This is why we must put to death the works of flesh even ones that seem small. The works of flesh are eminent and opposes to the Holy Spirit, and if we are honest we easily recognise them.  They are contention, anger, strive, bitterness, anger, rebellion, unforgiveness,impatience, lying, adultery, fornication, and sorcery. The moment a Christian allows any of these sins in their life, you have invited the enemy and if you are not spiritually discern, he will press you down and deep. The bible warned us to be vigilant in our Christian race-Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: -1 Peter 5:8.

Although, it is sometimes humanly impossible to totally avoid sin or temptation, but our response to these sin is what determines the outcome. We must be very quick to resolve issues and also seek God’s mercy and forgiveness of sins immediately. The moment we do this, the devil can not accuse us, the won’t dwell on guilt and shame, because we feel the embrace and peace of God. If we allow it to go beyond that moment the devil comes in and tries to harden our heart and make us rebellious against the Holy Spirit. We must violently resist him.

As Christians we all know what the the fruits of the spirit are which was why I used the bible verse in 1 Corinthians 13:11 (see top). We must no longer be okay being baby Christians, the works of the flesh are for unbelievers or lukewarm Christians. People who are not spiritual and do not understand the things of the spirit. To these people things of the spirit is foolishness. They are unable to forgive people who offend them, they are bitter and think very highly of themselves. As Christians we cannot and must not be comfortable with sin- we must not be equally yoked. We get revelation and understanding from the Holy Spirit and through the word of God and that is why it is important that every believer meditate on their bible day and night as God commanded. The bible contains everything we need to walk here on earth. Everything we are going through someone in the bible has been through it and we learn so much from the it. The moment the enemy gets you in a corner whereby you are unable to study the word, or pray please be very weary.

The last but the most important of all is love. Pure undiluted love of God. We ought to love one another unconditionally. The Lord ministered this to my heart this morning. He said we can have all the spiritual gifts in this world be it prophesy, speaking in tongues, interpretation of tongues, but if you abhor any bitterness toward anyone, you do not have love and love is the greatest commandment of all- Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not love, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not love, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not love, it profiteth me nothing. Love suffereth long, and is kind; love envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up, -1 Corinthians 13:1-4.

Beloved, we must learn to forgive those who have hurt us and we must be ok with people who do not apologise for the hurt and pain they have caused. We must look to God to heal us and reward us for our obedience. Don’t stop being kind and loving because someone treated you unkindly. Always remember that God is your great rewarder.

Prayer

Dear Heavenly Father, I come to you just as I am today. I know I have allowed some things in my heart (mention), I seek your mercy and grace over this issue today. I repent and ask that the blood of Jesus washes away every sin and iniquity in Jesus name.

Father, you are the prince of peace. Please give me your peace. I choose to release every hurt and pain that the world has caused me to you and I embrace your love and peace this morning in Jesus name.

God bless you me beloved sisters. I love you all dearly. Good morning.

Busola Olamuyiwa

2 thoughts on “Flesh must die

  1. Bless you for sharing this!! I so needed to read this and as I opened my WordPress app on my phone, yours was the first post I see. Wow! He does know when we need Him. He used you today and impressed it on you to post it just at the right time. He’s just that good!!! To Him all the glory!!!
    Bless you!!!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

