The passion of Jehu

Good morning beloved daughters and sons of the great and mighty King.
As we look forward to 2017, I want to appeal to us to be deliberate in our walk with God. My sister Tosin, stated during the 12 days of fasting that the Holy Spirit, ministered to her that the year 2017, will be the year of ‘walking with God’, as I was also praying last week Thursday and also as I type this message God said 2017 is ‘the year of deliberate walk with God’. My prayer is that we will all walk with him intentionally in Jesus mighty name.

Now to today’s topic, this topic was first shared by my local church Pastor, howver, I was only privileged to listen to it last week Wednesday,even though I had wanted too for a long time. As I was listening to the message the Holy Spirit said to me that I must share the same message With the group. I was so intrigued by the topic and wanted to title it as the original message, but the Holy Spirit asked me to change my theme slightly and he guided me in preparing for the message.

Topic: The Passion of Jehu!
Bible reading: 2 kings 9:1-37

Who is Jehu?
Jehu was an officer in the Israelite army. He was serving under King Joram whose father Ahab and mother Jezebel had committed several atrocities in the land of Israel when they reigned as King and queen. They were full of evil acts and they turned people away from God and made them worship idols. Jezebel also ordered the killing of an innocent man Naboth over his inheritance ( 1 kings 21). God was very displeased with them and with all that was happening in Israel. God sent a message to to King Ahab through Prophet Elijah that he would avenge Naboth’s and all the prophets death-Arise, go down to meet Ahab king of Israel, which is in Samaria: behold, he is in the vineyard of Naboth, whither he is gone down to possess it. And thou shalt speak unto him, saying, Thus saith the LORD, Hast thou killed, and also taken possession? And thou shalt speak unto him, saying, Thus saith the LORD, In the place where dogs licked the blood of Naboth shall dogs lick thy blood, even thine. Behold, I will bring evil upon thee, and will take away thy posterity, and will cut off from Ahab him that pisseth against the wall, and him that is shut up and left in Israel, -1 Kings 21:18-21

In order for God to carry out his judgement God needed a man who was willingly to fulfil his decree, and also someone who would do it diligently and this was where Jehu came in. In our bible reading for today, in the book of 2 Kings Chapter 9, Prophet Elisha sent a message to Jehu a military officer, whose father was Jehoshaphat to tell him God had appointed him King over Israel but God also had a mission for him and his mission was to destroy the entire generation of King Ahab even the little babies and he was not to spare anyone of his family member. Remember Jehu’s present King is also the son of Ahab (Jeroham). The message goes this-And thou shalt smite the house of Ahab thy master, that I may avenge the blood of my servants the prophets, and the blood of all the servants of the LORD, at the hand of Jezebel. Ahab’s entire family will die. I will cut off every last male belonging to Ahab in Israel, including even the weak and incapacitated. (2 Kings 9:7-8). As soon as Jehu received the message from the Prophet and was anointed King, he moved swiftly into action. He rode his horse as fast as he could and headed straight for King Joram, he killed him and he also wiped out the entire generation of Ahab as the Lord had decreed through his Prophets first Elijah and then Elisha-And when he came to Samaria, he slew all that remained unto Ahab in Samaria, till he had destroyed him, according to the saying of the LORD, which he spake to Elijah. -2 Kings 10:17. Jehu moved with a strong desire to ensure that the need of God was met even if it meant his life. There was no sentiment, no pity party or feeling sorry for his boss or his family. He knew God’s decree must stand and that his judgement was fair. He did not think about his comfort, family or life like most of us would when God asks us to do something for him. His focus and goal was to fulfil the need of the sovereign God. And so he wiped out Ahab’s family such that even family friends of his son Of we not spared. God needed to destroy these people who had corrupted the land and made a god for themselves. He needed someone who was going to destroy the idolatry temples built by Ahab and his descendants and turn the people’s heart back to God. Jehu’s obedience pleased so much that God rewarded him greatly-And the LORD said unto Jehu, Because thou hast done well in executing that which is right in mine eyes, and hast done unto the house of Ahab according to all that was in mine heart, thy children of the fourth generation shall sit on the throne of Israel. -2 Kings 10:30.

This is my message today, beloved where does your passion lie? God is in need of a man or woman with the heart and passion of Jehu. God wants fearless soldiers in Christ who would walk with him and carry out his decrees. In 2017 are you still going to be concerned about your children, husband, work and everything else that exalts itself against the knowledge of God? By all means we are all called to be mothers, wives, etc but there is a higher calling above all these and it is the call by the creator of the entire universe. It is a call to fellowship and walk with God almighty.

Beloved, in 2017, let us set aside mediocrity and challenge ourselves to obey God to the last detail. Put on your Jehu passion and do the work of God without any limitation. This was also my sister @Abiola’s message on her blog for those that read it. If you are a Christian then do what Christ would do, love, forgive, reach out to people, study the word, give your tithes, preach the gospel. Jesus is our high priest and we are his royal priesthood. We must model him in 2017. Remember, as Christians we are to seek first his kingdom and righteousness and then everything else will be added unto us. In essence do God’s will no matter how difficult it may seem, no matter how impossible it may seem. Just fulfil his need first and he will reward you exceedingly. Last week Thursday, as I prayed the Lord spoke to me about a lot of things, one of which I shared above. He asked me to pick up my pen to write, I was excited as I thought he wanted to tell me about all the wonder things he has in store for me for 2017. As I began to write he said I want you to evangelise more. I want you to begin to evangelise more beyond social media and to make contacts with people. He even told me to start with our security guard who is a Muslim and then move out into my street. Today, by his grace I would take sometime to evangelise, I plan to print and make copies of one of the topics discussed on the blog and give it out whilst I talk to people on the street about the love of Christ. I also encourage you to ask reach out to people that you are not family with. Perhaps you can buy a gift for someone on your street for Christmas and use this opportunity to share the love of God with them. Do it for someone you don’t know or let the Holy Spirit guide you to someone, trust me you would have fulfilled a need of God. God also laid in my heart that on the 24th of December, we should go out for evangelism. My sisters and I have agreed to do it and I have also told some other group members who reside in Lagos. Please feel free to Join us if interested, contact me please.

Beloved sisters, wherever you are tell someone about Jesus. Let people truly understand the reason for the season. In 2017, I perceive strongly in my spirit that God wants us to focus on him and to carry out his desires. Don’t worry too much about your own needs, he is able to take care of them even without you asking-Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us, -Ephesians 3:20

 

As Christ’s followers we must ensure that we follow his passionate love for God the father and be obedient to carefully do God’s will in 2017.
What his God’s will? Jesus told us God’s will is that we all don’t miss heaven and to see him in glory and dwell with him forever-And this is the Father’s will which hath sent me, that of all which he hath given me I should lose nothing, but should raise it up again at the last day. -John 6:39. For God is not a man that he should lie, neither is he a son of man that he should repent. Has he not said it will he not do it? Do the will of God in 2017, and watch lines begin to fall in pleasant places for you. Men will begin to come unto your rising and you will see the glory of the kings of kings in Jesus name-For I know what I have planned for you,’ says the Lord. ‘I have plans to prosper you, not to harm you. I have plans to give you a future filled with hope-Jeremiah 29:11 (NET)

Prayer

Oh Jehovah God of heaven and earth, we praise and bless your holy name righteous redeemer. By your mighty hands you have brought us to the end of the year 2017, we thank you for every known and unknown battles that you fought and won on our behalf, thank you for our families, friends, and loved ones, thank you precious saviour for choosing us for your mission by your grace alone, may your name alone be praised forever.

Saviour, we ask for mercy and forgiveness of sins and iniquity that may stand against us in Judgement, Holy one please forgive every thought, deeds and iniquities committed knowingly and unknowingly. We bleed the blood of the lamb Jesus that was slained for our transgressions. Thank you Lord for the forgiveness of our sins.

By your grace in 2017 we will fulfil your needs, we will study our bible more so that we have better understanding of your ways and we will acknowledge you in all our ways. Help us to love, forgive, give, and win souls for your glory. Father, we pray let thy will be done in our lives in Jesus name- For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. -Jeremiah 29:11. Amen.

God bless you all and thank you all for giving so much of yourself to this ministry.

 

Leave a Reply

