Rekindling your spirit in Christ

Bible texts: 2 Timothy 1:6, 2 Corinthians 4:16
Romans 12:2
Ezekiel 36:24-28
(I implore us all to read this verses before we proceed)

We Bless the name of the Lord most high for all that he is because he is truly everything.

Prayer: Lord, we pray that as we fellowship today, we stand in awe of you Lord God Almighty and we reference you Lord and we ask Lord that you let your spirit Come through and that today you fill our hearts like never before that we all experience you deeply in Jesus name. Lord it’s one thing to fellowship and it’s another to feel your presence, Father, we ask that today you will speak to our hearts and we also experience your love for us on a whole different level today in Jesus name…Amen!

I trust that we are all doing greatly today and are anticipating the mighty hands of God in our lives and situations. I am, that’s for sure as I am expectant to hear from God today, and expectant that he would surprise me and not just speak through me.

Last week I was experiencing something which I could not understand initially. It felt like an inner sense of heaviness…

It wasn’t despair neither was it depression nor even fear but rather it was one that brought me to my knees in prayers and I realised that it was a prayer burden from God urging me to pray for whatever it was or any and everything. I wasn’t exactly sure but it also felt like God was dealing with my spirit and relighting a spark. All I needed to do was to pray and fellowship with him; he was already waiting for me and already operating in me & I was getting broken and receiving fresh anointing …soon after, I got the message came to share this topic today. As I write this, what I’m hearing in my spirit is not just renewal but also restoration.

Sometimes, our lives can be such a routine including our relationships, marriages, walk with God and even when we don’t want to get complacent somehow we get used to the “norm” and need to stir things up or we just get weary and exhausted(especially after misunderstandings and difficult spats or perhaps when we backslide).

Isaiah 40:30-31New International Version (NIV)

30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;
31 but those who hope in the Lord
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

As we crave to revive that spark in our relationships & to fall in love with our spouses more deeply, believe me when I say God wants that with our relationship with him as I’m sure we all crave to do that as well which is why we keep seeking God and hoping to find him.

God speaks to us all in different ways and we get that conviction at times that we need to re-dedicate our lives to God or tune in and experience him on a different level by seeking him while Sometimes, God wants to revive and annoint us anew for a new mission (Matt 9:16-19; Mark 2:21-22). Now, We know that our sin gets in the way of this and God urges us to confess and truly rid of our sinful ways so that his spirit may abide in us.

Prayer: Now I just pray for forgiveness of sins for each and everyone of us and I pray to God our father for mercy and that you blot out our transgressions and forgive us in Jesus name. I pray that no sin may stand in the way of us receiving your spirit today in Jesus name. Amen

Ephesians 4:22-24New International Version (NIV)

22 You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; 23 to be made new in the attitude of your minds; 24 and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.

Now, I don’t know what we are each expecting of God and I’m not suggesting that we are not living right by God but I trust that we all need Jesus to come through in one way or the other like never before and fix us, fix certain situations, fix/deepen our relationships with him, purify our hearts. God is so merciful that he is always waiting to restore us and bring us back to him but We need to acknowledge God and cry out to him, asking him to purge our hearts and cleanse us.

Psalm 23:3 says

He restores my soul; He guides me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.

Now I ask you all, Are you thirsty? Are you seeking God, do you have that deeper desire for the spirit of God to dwell in you and fill you even more? Are you hungry for the outpouring of the Holy Spirit? Well, I desperately am. If you are too beloved,  please let’s come before him together today and collectively declare that we are thirsty for him, and that we are lost without him!

John 7:37-39New International Version (NIV)

37 On the last and greatest day of the festival, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. 38 Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.”[a] 39 By this he meant the Spirit, whom those who believed in him were later to receive. Up to that time the Spirit had not been given, since Jesus had not yet been glorified.

Please note *since Jesus had not been glorified* not self, so what I see is that we need to:

a)Come before God willingly
b)believe in him to quench your thirst and desire
c)exalt not thy selves or thy holiness but be humble before him
d)Glorify God, reference him, exalt and magnify his name, an knowledge his true holiness

Psalm 103:1-5New International Version (NIV)

Psalm 103
Of David.

1 Praise the Lord, my soul;
all my inmost being, praise his holy name.
2 Praise the Lord, my soul,
and forget not all his benefits—
3 who forgives all your sins
and heals all your diseases,
4 who redeems your life from the pit
and crowns you with love and compassion,
5 who satisfies your desires with good things
so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

e) talk to God ask him to purge Your hearts, fill you with his spirit and restore you back unto himself.

I really want us to do this collectively today as though we are in one place (Acts 2:1-4) so please let’s all dedicate 12:00 and 15:00hrs ,  to thank him with the above scripture and raise your voices and cry out to him with the 3 scriptures below and we can round up at 18:00 giving thanks for the day and glorifying Gods name.

Scriptures to pray with:

Psalm 51:10-12New International Version (NIV)

10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
11 Do not cast me from your presence
or take your Holy Spirit from me.
12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation
and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me

Lamentations 5:21New International Version (NIV)

21 Restore us to yourself, Lord, that we may return;
renew our days as of old.

let’s also pray according to Joel 2:28-32 that God outpours out his spirit on each member of this group and our households that we would prophesy, dream and see visions.

Pls speak in tongues where possible as I believe what God has in store for us is way beyond my explanation.

I pray that beyond his message, God moves mightily in us and through us today,revives us and that we all experience his fresh anointing and renewal of spirit for all that he has called us to do in Jesus name. Amen

I pray for the mighty hands of God to operate on each and everyone of your today way beyond your expectations and comprehension in Jesus name.

By: Bukola Olumofin

Leave a Reply

