The Almighty God

Bible Reading: The Gospel of John Chapters 1-21

Good day to you beloved of God. Recently, a dear friend sent me a message that read ‘Busola, please  be honest with me…tell me why u hold on to God?’ Initially, I was lost for words and in an instant words failed me to describe the greatness of my God even though I have so many things to say in my mind. It took me a couple of minutes to respond and the first thing I said in my response to her was that ‘because he is the essence of our living’, I also went on to share with her a personal encounter I had with Jesus  Christ in 2012 (I would put this up here soon). However, after telling her all I could in my reaponse, I still felt a need to Keep going. Truth is God is too good and our words of praise and worship God never describe is Almightiness.

Recently a lot of events have occurred in my life and in the lives of people around me that captures the greatness of our God as accounted in the Gospel of John. This account for me captivate and gives us a glimpse of who he is. After all it’s his word and the account of one of his dearly beloved disciples.  Jesus Christ is popularly known as the son of God, but a true believer knows this truth that Jesus is God reveal to us in flesh and dwelt amongst us.

Who is the Almighty God?

To me personally he is the creator of all things. He made the heavens and the earth and he is the source of our existence. Outside of him nothing exists and John 1:3 clearly states this fact.

The themes below were inspired by the Holy Spirit to captivate the Almighty God. The themes was drawn from the Gospel of John from chapters 1-21. Please beloved, I want to encourage you to take the time to study and meditate on the chapters.

Chapter 1-The Giver of life
In him was life; and the life was the light of men. -John 1:4. He is the creator of every living thing and the life giver. We must sought him for everything that pertains to us. His wisdom cannot be undermined in any situation. We were designed to sought his wisdom and direction daily in order to live abundantly when life fail, remember he holds the life manual.

Chapter 2-The Miracle worker
He performed a lot of miracles but the first he ever performed here on earth was to turn water into wine when all hope was lost. Jesus saith unto them, Fill the waterpots with water. And they filled them up to the brim. -John 2:7

Chapter 3- The teacher
He thought Nicodemus the Pharisee about true salvation and what it meant to be truly saved-Jesus answered, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God. -John 3:5. And Nicodemus also testified that he is indeed Rabbai (Teacher, John 3:2).

Chapter 4-The great Physician (Healer).
Again Jesus healer a lot of people but in this chapter is where we first experienced his healing powers-Jesus saith unto him, Go thy way; thy son liveth. And the man believed the word that Jesus had spoken unto him, and he went his way. -John 4:50

Chapter 5- The restorer of life
He restored the life of a paralytic who had been sick for 38 years-When Jesus saw him lie, and knew that he had been now a long time in that case, he saith unto him, Wilt thou be made whole? -John 5:6

Chapter 6-The giver of eternal life-Labour not for the meat which perisheth, but for that meat which endureth unto everlasting life, which the Son of man shall give unto you: for him hath God the Father sealed. -John 6:27

Chapter 7- The living water
He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water. -John 7:38

Chapter 8 The saviour
In his infinite wisdom he saved a mom an who had committed adultery from being stoned to death. I love how he said ‘I do not condemn you’. You know how we often feel we have done so much wrong that we don’t deserve his love and mercy, well Jesus is saying to someone ‘I do not condemn you, go and sin no more’ John 8:11.

John chapter 9- The Hope of the world-And Jesus said, For judgment I am come into this world, that they which see not might see; and that they which see might be made blind. -John 9:39

John 10-The resurrection and life-
No man taketh it from me, but I lay it down of myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This commandment have I received of my Father. -John 10:18. No one ever ever had the power to take his life, he laid it down and he rose again just so you and I might come to know him.

John 11-Compassionate Friend-
He shares in our pain and suffering and he comes to our aid. He felt the pain of Lazarus sisters and restored his life. When Jesus therefore saw her weeping, and the Jews also weeping which came with her, he groaned in the spirit, and was troubled, -John 11:33

Chapter 12- The great I am, the one that was and is and coming again-
The prophet of the Old Testament has already spoken about his coming and they had seen his glory-These things said Esaias, when he saw his glory, and spake of him. -John 12:41

Chapter 13- The Humble servant-
Even though he is God almighty, he showed us that it was okay to serve others by washing his disciples feet. For if he God would stoop to wash our feet, we must learn to do so to one other-Verily, verily, I say unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord; neither he that is sent greater than he that sent him. -John 13:16

Chapter 14-God in three persons-
We God Almighty (father) from the Old Testament, God Jesus (Son) and in this chapter we were introduced to the Holy Spirit who was to come after Jesus has departed the world- Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you. -John 14:17. Notice where Jesus said the world does not know him, but you know him for he has lived amongst you but he now lives in you. Sisters, we carry God on the inside of us. We carry the power of God. Big Smile*** Glory, Hallelujah!!

Chapter 15-The greatest lover-
He laid down his life so that you and I may come to know him as the one true God-Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. -John 15:13

Chapter 16- The sovereign one-
Every word he spoke about in this chapter have come to past. He is sovereign because he is the almighty God who knows all things even before they happen. His words and decrees are final. If God says you are blessed, nothing can change that-John 16:25

Chapter 17- Our intercessor-
He prayer for his disciples which includes you and I-I pray for them: I pray not for the world, but for them which thou hast given me; for they are thine. -John 17:9

Chapter 18-The suffering messiah-
In this chapter we see how he suffered betrayal from his close friends and disciples including Judas Iscariot and Peter and the great humiliation from the world. Yet through it all he loved us and died when he didn’t have too. Praise the Lord!

Chapter 19-The Crucified King-
The one without sin or blemish bared the cross and took the nails and the bitter wine and declared it was finished. John 19:30

Chapter 20- The conqueror-
He conquered death just as he said he would, he rose from the dead on the third day, never to die again but he ascended to heaven. The son of God was lifted up-And when she had thus said, she turned herself back, and saw Jesus standing, and knew not that it was Jesus. -John 20:14

Chapter 21- The restorer of life-
Despite Peter’s sin and betrayal, he restored him as the leader of the disciplines and helped him to fulfil the destiny for which he was created-And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it. -Matthew 16:18

Finally sisters this same God is still within us performing wonders healing, teaching, and restoring us. I have several personal testimonies of his awesome wonder working powers and am sure you all do too but there are souls yet to know him and we should make it our purpose to help them know him more. Go out and evangelise and touch a soul today. Also spend the day praising and glorifying his name. He alone is worthy of our praise. God bless you all. Shalom!

By: Busola Olamuyiwa

Leave a Reply

